May 27, 2017 03:01 AM PST
SINCE 2007

Scholarships to local youths

COLMA (Bay Area, Calif.) -- The Daly City-Colma Chamber of Commerce held their annual ‘Access to Higher Education’ scholarship awards ceremony on Thursday May 16.

Forty area high school students filled the first few rows of the Daly City Council Chambers. They were chosen from among over 80 applicants and each presented with a scholarship grant award for $1,000.


Funding for the DCCCC Educational Foundation program is generated through proceeds from the popular Crab Feed event in March while the scholarships are sponsored by the generosity of a number of local businesses and individuals. Among the 19 senior level sponsors, those accounting for $1,000 donations are Kaiser Permanente, Lucky Chances Casino and Serramonte Center.

Chamber president/CEO Georgette Sarles hosted the proceedings for the event, which was attended by numerous dignitaries including California State Senator Mark Leno.

In her welcome remarks Sarles asked the scholarship recipients to embrace the challenges ahead. She reminded them of go-getters like Apple co-founder Steve Jobs whose ability to keep an open mind and take some risks along the way was what led him to become an innovator.

Leno served as keynote speaker for the event. Also addressing the students with enthusiastic speeches were FilAm community leaders Colma Mayor Joanne F. del Rosario and Mayor of Daly City Raymond Buenaventura.

Westmoor High School graduating Rupinder Bajawa was the student keynote speaker.

Along with each of the scholarship grants, the graduates received certificate of achievements from Congresswoman Jackie Speier; State Senator Leland Yee; Assemblyman Phil Ting; San Mateo County Board of Supervisors Adrienne Tissier, City of Daly City, Town of Colma and the DCCCC. Finally, the impressive collection of future leaders each got a $25 gift card to senior sponsor Macy’s.

On behalf of Lucky Chances its owners and entire staff, chief operations officer/general manager Art Van Loon presented the scholarships to 13 graduating students. Lucky Chances’ Lori DeRenzo sits on the scholarship committee headed up by the foundation.   

The names of the awardees with their college destination are: Mauricio Alvarado, San Jose State University; Francisco Alvarado, Seattle University; Nicolas Barba, Loyola Marymount University; Matthew Constantino, University of California-Berkeley; Angelyn Casmiro, Fasion Institute of Design & Merchandising; Clarissa Chan, University of California-Los Angeles; Elizabeth Chan, University of California-Davis; Casey Chiu, University of California-Davis; Rusty Cosino, Boston College; Jonah DeGuzman, Sacramento State University; Mariah De Zuzuarregui, Notre Dame University; Edie Espejo, University of California-Davis; Claire Gerona, University of California-Ivine.